You are here

Kipevu III Power Station, 120MW

Commenced operation in 1999

Located at Kipevu in Mombasa. Kipevu III is the largest diesel plant in East Africa and comprises of 7 diesel engines and is connected to the national grid via a new 132KV switch yard extension.

Contract to construct the power station was signed on 27th November 2009 between KenGen and Warstila Oy of Finland.

The engines are fired on heavy fuel oil (HFO), the new power plant employs the latest technology in plant monitoring and supervision, safety, sound, attenuation and exhaust air emission dispersion control and efficient treatment to ensure environmental protection.

2. Kipevu I Diesel, 73.5 MW

Construction took place between 27th November 2009 between KenGen and Warstila of Finland. Facility handed over in 2011

3. Lamu 2.8MW,

The sets were installed at varied times as from 1999 with the latest having been commissioned in September 2007.

4. Garissa 6.2 MW (Temporary power Aggreko 3.4MW)

One of the sets was commissioned in May 2005 while the other units were commissioned in 1996.

5. Embakasi Gas Turbine 60MW,

The plant is in the process of being redeployed to Muhoroni in western Kenya.